Fix-it Friday #62

Man… it’s been a LONG time. Thanks to I Heart Faces for making me want to blog again! πŸ˜‰ This is my submission the Fix-it Friday… fixes. πŸ˜‰

Immediately below you will find the end results of my Fix-it Friday fixes (say THAT five times fast). Below that you will find the steps (with screenshots) I took to achieve each look.


(you can view the “full” resolution by clicking here)


(you can view the “full” resolution by clicking here)

How I achieved this look:

Here is the original photo…

…and the photo after cropping.

“full” size

(Note: Each photo will have a link below it (“full” size) in which you can view the largest size of the image I have available. It’s not much bigger but I’m just so sweet I thought I’d add the link anyway.)

Next is sharpening.** Now, when I sharpen a photo, I never ever EVER do it to the original image layer. I duplicate the image layer, title it as the image with sharpening, and THEN sharpen. Here is what it looked like after sharpening:

“full” size

After cropping and sharpening, I started by bumping the levels a little bit. (11 – 1.35 – 255)

“full” size

Then I did a little curves work. (Pictured below are both the photo and curves dialog box. I know, I’m WAY too sweet.)

“full” size

Important to note: The next step will completely rid you of all previous layers. It creates it’s own new flattened image. Because of this, I usually save the the file now, as is, and duplicate. I run the action on the duplicated file and then COPY the result and paste it back into my original file. I then delete the duplicate file as I no longer have any use for it. Did any of that make sense?

I then ran the (free) “Soft Gold” action from Ginnie J Photography and set it to 75%.

“full” size

I used The Pioneer Woman’s (free – can you see a theme?) action called “Quick Edge Burn” (from her free action set #1) knowing that it would wash the entire photo with a light gray transparent layer (as it is set using linear burn). After applying the action, I used a large brush (300px) set to 70% opacity to go over the entire photo. This brings back the gray a whole heck of a lot. (I’m such a technical person!) Then I used a 35px brush to paint just Amy’s lil one and the chair in which she is sitting.

“full” size

If I’d thought of it, I could have taken a before and after of the brush work I did on the Edge Burn layer… but I didn’t think about it. Sorry!

After that I ran The Pioneer Woman’s action called “boost” and set it to 60%. (Someone developed an action called “Color Pop” that I thought would probably be awesome with this one in combination with the next action I’m about to reference. I can’t remember who that someone was. Also of note: I would totally love to use Totally Rad actions and WILL someday when I have my own business. … Hey! Let a girl dream!)

“full” size

Then because I’m ridiculous and can’t take advice, I ran The Pioneer Woman’s action called “Seventies.” (And now because I’m tired of typing out “The Pioneer Woman” every time, I will call her “Ree.” Thanks for understanding.) I set the action layer to a measly 15%.

“full” size

Thus endeth the lesson… unless you want a black and white image. Ha!

Okay.. so there is probably a much simpler way to do this but because I hate going backwards, I pushed ahead to create the black-and-white. Here’s what I did:

I applied another levels layer. (0 – 0.66 – 255) (BTW, I guess I should have mentioned this before: Whenever I am applying “adjustments” to my image, I NEVER apply it directly to the image. I always use adjustment layers. You can find these under Layer > New Adjustment Layer > *whatever layer you want*)

“full” size

Then I applied Ree’s “B&W Beauty” action. That is the only action set to… you guessed it you brilliant editor you… 100%.

“full” size

And for an extra bit of fun (because you read to the very end), here’s the same b&w with a layer of Ree’s “PW’s B & W” action set to 50%.

“full” size

Thanks for letting me host a ridiculously long blog post session on how to edit a photo like I did. I’m a little tired of myself now so I’m off to check out all of YOUR edits at I Heart Faces. Woohoo!

**I was torn on whether or not to leave this image “soft” but went ahead and sharpened it. The image is easily taken back to soft as I created that duplicate layer to sharpen. Turn off that layer and you see the soft image with the same adjustments applied. Also, these look REALLY sharp. That must be why people have the “sharpen for web” settings…

~ by Elle on July 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
